The Adivasi

Adivasi means "first inhabitant" and refers to the indigenous people of India and neighboring countries. Their ancestors had to live in the course of Indo-European immigration, which began around 1500 BC. Began and until 500 BC. Lasted to retreat into remote forest and mountain areas. Some of them have been able to maintain their traditional ways of life there to this day.

The immigrants established the caste system over the centuries to secure their supremacy. The Adivasi are outside of this caste system and therefore at the bottom of society. Out of resistance and self-assertion, politically active natives spread the Sanskrit / Hindi expression "Adivasi", which is widely used today.

The Adivasi artist Jamsheed

For many years Jamshed had to paint postcards in the basement of a house in Bombay. The artist received 50 cents a day for this. At some point he decided to go back to his village and live there from the traditional painting of the Adivasi, the indigenous people of India. Today he paints houses. The client determines the story: birth, wedding or other events are recorded. But actually Jamsheed is a freelance writer. First he draws the old stories on goat skins and then tells them to his guests.

 

The displaced people from Rourkela

In 1953, the Indian government began planning and building a steel plant in cooperation with the Federal Republic of Germany. Around 5000 German companies including their suppliers were involved in the construction of the iron metallurgical plant. It was the first and most important post-war project with which German industry was able to demonstrate its newly won international competitiveness. It is at the beginning of the German export successes. The steel mill, in which 32,000 people work today, was built on the land of the Adivasi. To this end, 32,000 Adivasi from 32 villages were resettled. They were supposed to get compensation for their land loss, but they never did. Hundreds were deported to the jungle, many of whom died of disease and malnutrition. Others were resettled in ghettos in Rourkela. The land of the Adivasi, which was expropriated but not yet used, was never given back. The German federal government refuses to this day to recognize their co-responsibility for the expropriations and resettlements and to make compensation payments. This is a documentary from a research trip to Rourkela and to resettlement sites, some of which are more than 70 kilometers away in the jungle.

Die Adivasi

Adivasi bedeutet „erste Bewohner“ und bezieht sich auf die Ureinwohner Indiens und angrenzender Länder. Deren Vorfahren mußten im Zug der indo-europäischen Einwanderung, die um 1500 v. Chr. begann und bis 500 v. Chr. andauerte, in entlegene Wald- und Berggebiete zurückweichen. Dort konnten sie teilweise bis heute ihre traditionellen Lebensformen bewahren.

Die Einwanderer richteten in Jahrhunderten das Kastensystem zur Sicherung ihrer Vorherrschaft ein. Die Adivasi stehen außerhalb dieses Kastensystems und damit in der Gesellschaft ganz unten. Aus Widerstand und Selbstbehauptung verbreiteten Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts politisch aktive Ureinwohner den Sanskrit-/Hindi-Ausdruck „Adivasi“, der heute weithin verwendet wird.

Der Adivasikünstler Jamsheed

Viele Jahre musste Jamshed in Bombay im Souterrain eines Hauses Postkarten malen. Dafür erhielt der Künstler 50 Cent pro Tag. Irgendwann entschloss er sich, zurück in sein Dorf zu gehen und dort von der traditionellen Malerei der Adivasi, der Ureinwohner Indiens, zu leben. Heute bemalt er Häuser. Der Auftraggeber bestimmt die Geschichte: Geburt, Hochzeit oder andere Ereignisse werden festgehalten. Aber eigentlich ist Jamsheed ein freier Schriftsteller. Erst zeichnet er die alten Geschichten auf Ziegenhäute und erzählt sie dann seinen Gästen.

Die Vertriebenen von Rourkela

1953 begann die indische Regierung in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundesrepublik Deutschland die Planung und Errichtung eines Stahlwerkes. Mit Zulieferern waen ca. 5000 deutsche Firmen an der Errichtung des Hüttenwerkes beteiligt. Es war das erste und wichtigste Nachkriegsprojekt, mit der die deutsche Industrie ihre neu gewonnene internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit unter Beweis stellen konnte. Es steht am Beginn der deutschen Exporterfolge. Das Stahlwerk, in dem heute 32.000 Menschen arbeiten, wurde auf dem Grund und Boden der Adivasi errichtet. Dazu wurden 32.000 Adivasi aus 32 Dörfern umgesiedelt. Sie sollten eine Kompensation für ihren Landverlust erhalten, was jedoch nie geschah. Hunderte wurden in den Dschungel deportiert, viele von ihnen starben an Krankheiten und Unterernährung. Andere wurden in Rourkela in Ghettos umgesiedelt. Das enteignete aber bis heute nicht genutze Land der Adivasi wurde niemals zurück gegeben. Die Bundesregierung weigert sich bis heute, ihre Mitverantung für die Enteignungen und Umsiedlungen anzuerkennen und Kompesationszahlungen zu leisten. Dies ist die Dokumentation einer Recherchereise nach Rourkela und in zum Teil mehr als 70 Kilometer entfernte Umsiedlungsorte mitten im Dschungel.